Learning not to Overlook Beauty

IMG_1353

A few years back, when my son was two, we spotted an all white deer while a full moon was rising. I determined to get a photo, so we went back several evenings to get another glimpse. Whitetail deer are creatures of habit. However, I knew as the summer waxed hotter and grass grew coarser, the deer would most likely move on to different grazing grounds. A good photo in the fading light would require getting close, so we would have to sneak up on the deer. My son begged to go with me. It’s hard to say no to a toddler when he has that much excitement about the outdoors. I made him promise to keep quiet and allowed him to tag along.

IMG_1331

As we snuck through the woods, he remained very intent on the mission of getting a closer look. He stopped with me every time we saw the tail wag right before the deer would lift up its head. He was engaged. The sun was setting, and I was not able to keep the camera steady enough to take a clear photo through the zoom lens. My photos were all blurry. We would have to creep closer to get a better shot with a shorter lens.

Behind me I heard, “Pine cones! I found pine cones!” The deer ran off. There remained only one thing to do, stop and admire the pinecones that had caught my sons attention.

An all white deer is rare indeed. Since then, I’ve seen two more in another state. However, my son brought me back to a world where common beauty was as enjoyable as the rare. I still go on expeditions to find something unusual. However, I keep admiring the everyday beauty, as I have learned from my children.

111226 001

Leave a Reply

